Coerced

God, what are you doing to me?  I have enough problems of my own. I’m just coming in for Passover, minding my own business. How did I get roped into carrying somebody’s cross. This is the ultimate!…Why Me! Why pick on me?

Simon, Simon, “if you knew the gift of God and…” whose cross it is you’re carrying, “you would have asked him and he would have” helped you carry your own cross.[Jn 4:10]  It was not by chance that I picked you, Simon.  It may seem to you that way. But “my thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways my ways…For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, my thoughts higher than your thoughts.”[Is 55:8-9]

Why you?  Because I love you!

I do nothing in vain…I know what I am about.[1] I created you to do My Son a definite service; I have committed this work to you which I have not committed to another. You have a special mission.

You are fortunate; you know it in this life, indeed, you are beginning a whole new life right now, climbing up this hill…You are necessary for my purposes, as necessary in your place” accompanying My Son as the archangel Raphael who accompanied Tobit [Tobit 12:15]—You have a part in this great work; you are a link in a chain, a bond of connection between My Son and His destiny.  I have not called your from the crowd for naught. You shall do good, You shall do His work; You shall be an angel of peace, a preacher of truth in you own place, while not intending it, if you but…serve Him in this, your privileged calling.

I have determined, unless you interfere with My plan, that you should reach that which will be your greatest happiness. I love you, Simon. I call you by your name. I know what you can do, what you can best be, what is your greatest happiness, and I mean to give it to you.

While I know what is your greatest happiness, like being yanked from the crowd, you do not.. Thus I may seem to lead you by strange ways, realize that I want your greatest happiness.

You do not know what your happiness is nor the way. My Son is the light of the world; He is the Way, the Truth and the Life. You are blind; left to yourself, you should take the wrong way.

Leave it to Him. He will lead you right, though that be up the hill to Calvary. He will bring you to that which is not indeed what you may think best, not what is best for another, but what is best for you, Simon.

Trust Him.

That when we have trials and tribulations thrust onto us, we may recognize and accept our calling to help Jesus carry His cross.

As they led him away they took hold of a certain Simon, a Cyrenian, who was coming in from the country; and after laying the cross on him, they made him carry it behind Jesus. [Lk 23:26] [2]

[1] This soliloquy is an adaptation of Bl. John Henry Cardinal Newman’s mediations for March 6 and 7, 1848. He wrote in the third person.  I commend his works to you. http://www.newmanreader.org/works/meditations/meditations9.html

[2] Scripture texts in this work are taken from the New American Bible, revised edition © 2010, 1991, 1986, 1970 Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, Washington, D.C. and are used by permission of the copyright owner. All Rights Reserved. No part of the New American Bible may be reproduced in any form without permission in writing from the copyright owner.

Leave a Reply

