Covered

When the soldiers had crucified Jesus, they took his clothes and divided them into four shares, a share for each soldier. They also took his tunic, but the tunic was seamless, woven in one piece from the top down. So they said to one another, “Let’s not tear it, but cast lots for it to see whose it will be,” in order that the passage of scripture might be fulfilled [that says]: “They divided my garments among them, and for my vesture they cast lots.” This is what the soldiers did. [Jn 19: 23-24] [1]

 Then the eyes of both of them were opened, and they knew that they were naked; so they sewed fig leaves together and made loincloths for themselves. When they heard the sound of the LORD God walking about in the garden at the breezy time of the day, the man and his wife hid themselves from the LORD God among the trees of the garden. The LORD God then called to the man and asked him: Where are you? He answered, “I heard you in the garden; but I was afraid, because I was naked, so I hid.” Then God asked: Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten from the tree of which I had forbidden you to eat? [Gen. 3:7-11]

Jesus had nothing to hide.  I, like Adam and Eve, have everything to hide but can’t.

As they came forth from their mother’s womb, so again shall they return, naked as they came, having nothing from their toil to bring with them. This too is a grievous evil, that they go just as they came. What then does it profit them to toil for the wind? [Eccl 5:14-15]

What profit is there for one to gain the whole world and forfeit his life? For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake and that of the gospel will save it. [Mk 8: 36,35]

“Naked I came forth from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I go back there. [Job 1:21]

The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD!” [Job 1:22]

Jesus has nothing.  I have much.  Yet Jesus has everything; I have nothing.

For we brought nothing into the world, just as we shall not be able to take anything out of it..For the love of money is the root of all evils. [1 Tim 6:6, 10]

“If you wish to be perfect, go, sell what you have and give to [the] poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” [Mt 19:20-21] Sell your belongings and give alms. Provide money bags for yourselves that do not wear out, an inexhaustible treasure in heaven that no thief can reach nor moth destroy. For where your treasure is, there also will your heart be. [Lk 12: 33-34]

As they were proceeding on their journey someone said to him, “I will follow you wherever you go.”  Jesus answered him, “Foxes have dens and birds of the sky have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to rest his head.” And to another he said, “Follow me.” But he replied, “[Lord,] let me go first and bury my father.” But he answered him, “Let the dead bury their dead.* But you, go and proclaim the kingdom of God.” And another said, “I will follow you, Lord, but first let me say farewell to my family at home.” [To him] Jesus said, “No one who sets a hand to the plow and looks to what was left behind is fit for the kingdom of God.” [Lk 9:57-62]  Everyone who has given up houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or lands for the sake of my name will receive a hundred times more, and will inherit eternal life.” [Mt 19:29]

When the disciples heard this, they were greatly astonished and said, “Who then can be saved?” [Mt 19: 24] You make it very difficult, God. Jesus looked at them and said,For human beings this is impossible, but for God all things are possible.” [Mt 19:25] Whoever remains in me and I in him will bear much fruit, because without me you can do nothing. [Jn 15:5]

You have set us impossible goals, but You will make them possible.  Without You, I can do nothing good.  Help me always to remain with You.  Remain always with me.  Strip me of my clingies, my must-haves, my sine-qua-non’s.  Help me to practice Ignatian “active indifference” …to become utterly free to respond to Your call, Lord…Call me to be free enough to either keep it or get rid of it, shift my attention entirely to what You want, and not what I want.  Help me know what You desire and help me desire only that which serves Your Divine Majesty more. [2]

[1]Scripture texts in this work are taken from the New American Bible, revised edition © 2010, 1991, 1986, 1970 Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, Washington, D.C. and are used by permission of the copyright owner. All Rights Reserved. No part of the New American Bible may be reproduced in any form without permission in writing from the copyright owner.

[2] See Ignatius’ Three Classes of Men. http://www.magisspirituality.org/spex_reflection/the-three-classes/

Leave a Reply

