Running….away

2 So she ran and went to Simon Peter and to the other disciple whom Jesus loved, and told them, “They have taken the Lord from the tomb, and we don’t know where they put him.”[1] Jn 20:2

So she ran…the beginning of the running sequences.  Lord God, You are very patient, while I am very impatient.  This is a “now” era; immediate satisfaction is the criterion of timeliness.  Sad, for You are everywhere and every when…It is not Your fault, God, I am so self-centered as to demand my time vs His time.  For the graces of prudence and patience to know we follow Your time and the trust to follow You. When I wander away from the You in our relationship, the 2nd person, and begin preaching to the imaginary throngs in the 3rd person He and Him…I fall into distraction and pride.  Save me from preening and strutting and help me to give all credit, glory, honor, power and praise to You and You alone…and to know in my heart of hearts that I am nothing…I am not “I am”…I am “who be.”  You hold in being, gave form and life, gave faith and grace, and continuously give all.  I am no thing; without Your constant life-support, I cease to exist.  Grant me the grace to always and everywhere remember that and be humble. Running can be associated with many different moods, different motivations, different reasons…some rational, some instinctive, some emotional.  Help me run when You call, when You express Your will, when I am to “obey,” “to listen to” You and open myself up to whatever You have in mind.  Help me be prompt in responding to Your call, Your inspiration, Your breathing into me that I may do Your will. and went to Simon Peter and to the other disciple whom Jesus loved  She goes to the head of the Church and John.  I, when I am lost and cannot find Jesus, should go to the Church, to love of God, to contemplate true reality. Holy Spirit, guide me, help me, lead me, teach me, inspire me, comfort me, console me.  That I may know and love You, Jesus and our Father as You will me to do so.  Amen.  Alleluia!!! [1] Scripture texts in this work are taken from the New American Bible, revised edition © 2010, 1991, 1986, 1970 Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, Washington, D.C. and are used by permission of the copyright owner. All Rights Reserved. No part of the New American Bible may be reproduced in any form without permission in writing from the copyright owner.

Leave a Reply

