46 For if you had believed Moses,…

46 For if you had believed Moses, you would have believed me, because he wrote about me. 47 But if you do not believe his writings, how will you believe my words?” [1]

John, here at the end of Chapter 5, chastises his hearers who won’t even believe their Torah, their Law in which Moses, himself, testifies to Jesus…thus, Jesus concludes his iteration of His witnesses: His Father, the Spirit, John the Baptist, Scripture, His works and finally Moses….his hearers refuse to believe anyone or anything, even their own eyes.

Am I not often the same. You barrage me with messages, particularly warnings prior to my falling into serious sin and I choose to ignore each and every one. I know better than You do. I can handle myself.   I know what I’m doing. I…I…I…and then I fall headlong into the very trap of the devil that You were pointing out. Not just pointing out, sending up flares, flooding with spotlights, blaring sirens, posting warnings in 70 different languages, wearing HAZMAT suits; laying down in front of the bulldozers…even agreeing to be ridiculed, taunted, tortured, condemned and crucified…just so I would get the picture and STOP!!!

Do I get the message? Loud and clear!!!

Do I heed the warning? Duh, who me, Dufus?

You would think after He went to all that trouble, all that effort, that even though He showed all that loving care and concern, He would throw up His pierced hands in disgust and frustration and chalk me up to one gigantic failure, to one campaign that went South, to one incredible SNAFU, that He would leave me in my misery, in my dismay, in my confusion and disappointment at my supposed self and turn to more responsive, more willing, more open and cooperating candidates for His Message and Salvation.

But NO, He’s got to come back and try, try again…and again…and again…how many ever it takes until I finally get it, I finally concede that I am not God, I finally understand that I may think I know what’s best for me, I may be told by the Father of all Lies that I know what He knows what everybody knows what’s best for me…but these are all a pack of …., a crock of …., utterly nonsense. I finally turn around and He’s still there, still waiting, still patient, in spite of everything, He still loves me, is waiting with open arms for me, has my adopted son’s ring for me, throws His arms around me and hugs me…and welcomes me back…welcomes me home…welcomes me to the eternal banquet. Now that’s what I call LOVE!!! Amen. Alleluia!!!

[1] Scripture texts in this work are taken from the New American Bible, revised edition © 2010, 1991, 1986, 1970 Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, Washington, D.C. and are used by permission of the copyright owner. All Rights Reserved. No part of the New American Bible may be reproduced in any form without permission in writing from the copyright owner.

Leave a Reply

