Seeing the signs

14 When the people saw the sign he had done, they said, “This is truly the Prophet, the one who is to come into the world.” [1]

Guess who woke up? He got their attention. They saw the sign.  Jesus’ point was missed because He is dealing on a spiritual plane and the people on a temporal, temporary, instinctive plane.  Jesus will help them understand the bread of life which explains the significance of the multiplication.

Have I missed something? Have I missed the miracle of this new day, this sunrise, this green field, this tree, this humming bird, this flower? Have I not realized the miracle of this breath of air, this fleeting thought, this passing moment?

Have I missed Jesus? Has He passed me by in the street and I didn’t recognize Him…or Her. Have I become so inured, so callous, so blaze to the miracles around me that I take them for granted, I pass over them as if they weren’t there, I ignore them to get to the “more important, immediate” things of life.

What is more a miracle than another human being? As C. S. Lewis said: ‘Next to the Blessed Sacrament itself, your neighbor is the holiest object presented to your senses.’ Each person that I meet quotes St. Paul to me: I tell you a mystery. [1Cor 15:51]

Help me to welcome reality as Your miracle, Your gift to me that is as common as bread, but as miraculous as the feeding of the 5000. Help me to remember You in the bread that I eat, the air that I breathe, the neighbor who waves from his truck. Help me know You in the breaking of the world. Amen. Alleluia!!!

[1] Scripture texts in this work are taken from the New American Bible, revised edition © 2010, 1991, 1986, 1970 Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, Washington, D.C. and are used by permission of the copyright owner. All Rights Reserved. No part of the New American Bible may be reproduced in any form without permission in writing from the copyright owner.

Leave a Reply

