Jesus didn’t show

Jn 6:16-17a When it was evening, his disciples went down to the sea, embarked in a boat, and went across the sea to Capernaum. [1]

Jesus didn’t show…that’s it, I’m out of here. He doesn’t have the courtesy to be here when I’m ready to leave, too bad. I have things to do and places to go. I can’t stand around here all night waiting. I want to get home. I’ve had enough of playing servant to a bunch of hangers-on. I’m leaving.

Seven “I’s” to one “Jesus.” He doesn’t stand a chance in my lexicon.

How dare You desert me? Aren’t I Your most important client? Your most important adopted son? So what if I have been in a distant country where [I] squandered [my] inheritance on a life of dissipation. [Lk 15:13] That’s not the point. I’m here right now, and You’re not!

Do I really believe that Jesus deserted me? Do I really think the Father who knows when a sparrow falls from the sky and the number of hairs on my head [Mt 10:29-30], He who loved the world so much that He sent His only begotten Son to die for us, to rise for us so that we might have eternal life [Jn 3:16], that Jesus whose last words were: I am with you always, even to the end of the age [Mt 28:20] has finked out on me?

Not a chance. I can, and sinner that I am, often do leave You, but You never leave me. I may not feel Your presence. You may seem to be “gone.” But, like the poem says: “My precious child, I love you and will never leave you. Never, ever, during your trials and testings. When you saw only one set of footprints, it was then that I carried you.”[2]

[1] Scripture texts in this work are taken from the New American Bible, revised edition © 2010, 1991, 1986, 1970 Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, Washington, D.C. and are used by permission of the copyright owner. All Rights Reserved. No part of the New American Bible may be reproduced in any form without permission in writing from the copyright owner.

[2] “Footprints in the Sand” by Margaret Fishback Powers

Leave a Reply

