Jesus knew

15 Since Jesus knew that they were going to come and carry him off to make him king, he withdrew again to the mountain alone.[1]

Since Jesus knew. Just as Jesus knew about what the crowd was going to do, Jesus, You know what I am going to do. How many times a day do I send You off to the mountain alone? How many times do I desert You by sin. How many times do I want to transform You into something You are not, like a earthly king or a lucky charm or a miracle worker at my beck and call or an unwilling witness to my transformation of good into evil and evil into good?

How many times to You have to withdraw from me, lovingly, caringly, mercifully, to help me come to my senses and accept You as You are, not as I want You to be? Perhaps this withdrawal is similar to the time You withdrew from Mary and Jesus and stayed in Jerusalem…not because You wished to hurt them or cause them sorrow, but because You saw Your Father’s business as calling You. Granted, this was the impetuous action of a teen, an action prefiguring Your later public life, but for which the Father, through Mary and Joseph gently persuaded You that You were not yet ready, Your hour had not yet come…not a false start so much as a learning experience.

Help me have learning experiences where You enable me to return to Nazareth and grow in wisdom, age and grace before God and man. [Lk 2:52] Help me also accept You as You are, Jesus, the Christ, the Son of God, [Lk 9:20] my Savior…and indeed my King of a Kingdom not of this world.[Jn 18:36] For You stated to Pilate that You were a King: You say I am a king. For this I was born and for this I came into the world, to testify to the truth. Everyone who belongs to the truth listens to my voice.[Jn 18:37], “at best a reluctant affirmative,”[2]…for Your kingship and our image or notion of kingship are light-years apart. Help me to see Zachariah’s vision of Your kingship: Behold: your king is coming to you, a just savior is he, humble, and riding on a donkey, on a colt, the foal of a donkey. [Zech 9:9; Mt 21:5] Help me to follow Your humble kingship, and not chase You away alone to the mountain. Amen. Alleluia!!!

[1] Scripture texts in this work are taken from the New American Bible, revised edition © 2010, 1991, 1986, 1970 Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, Washington, D.C. and are used by permission of the copyright owner. All Rights Reserved. No part of the New American Bible may be reproduced in any form without permission in writing from the copyright owner.

[2] NABRE note on Jn 18:37.

Leave a Reply

