Keepin’ Track!!!

John 6:22 The next day, the crowd that remained across the sea saw that there had been only one boat there, and that Jesus had not gone along with his disciples in the boat, but only his disciples had left. [1] [2]

A new day. Each new day. Another gift from You, God. Thank You.

Keepin’ track…Jesus seems to the crowd to be rather elusive, almost like His description of one born of the Spirit: The wind blows where it wills, and you can hear the sound it makes, but you do not know where it comes from or where it goes; so it is with everyone who is born of the Spirit. [Jn 3:8]

I suppose it is not as important that we know where Jesus is as it is that He knows where we are. Knowing where He is is another thinly veiled ploy to try to control Him, my life, my security, my God, my future, my, my, my…my goodness, so many my’s. One would think that I was a bit ego-centric, solipsistic, self-absorbed…pshaw!

It is fascinating that I work so hard at firming up the future, planning every little detail, making sure everything is in order. Little do I heed Jesus parable about the rich man who plans out new barns and storehouses for his abundant crop: You fool, this night your life will be demanded of you; and the things you have prepared, to whom will they belong? [Lk 12:20] I rarely get my priorities straight: seek his kingdom, and these other things will be given you besides. [Lk 12:31]

As to where Jesus is, He has answered that question: I am with you always, until the end of the age. [Mt 28:20] It is very simple: Whoever loves me will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our dwelling with him. [Jn 14:23]…

Now, Lord, about keeping Your word… Amen. Alleluia!!!

[1] Scripture texts in this work are taken from the New American Bible, revised edition © 2010, 1991, 1986, 1970 Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, Washington, D.C. and are used by permission of the copyright owner. All Rights Reserved. No part of the New American Bible may be reproduced in any form without permission in writing from the copyright owner.

[2] Interesting verse: The crowd sees only one boat and surmises that Jesus has not gone with the disciples, but only they had left. Is this Jesus’ boat? Or are the two things not directly related, i.e. the extra boat and the knowledge that Jesus had not accompanied his disciples… another of those enigmas that will have to be clarified by John in heaven.

Leave a comment