The “river of life” (Revelation 22:1-2)

Holy Spirit, besides being described as “the wind [which] blows where it wills [Jn 3:8],[1] You are also described as “flowing water” and as “a spring inside you”. (John 4:10-14) Life seems to flow that way, from one thing and another, all seemingly jumbled together, without rhyme or reason, texting to toileting to eating to driving to meeting to playing sports, without a seeming link, a common thread, except that I am involved in each. I neglect to notice that You are involved in each also.

Your Will is like that wind, that river, which encompasses all my actions, all my thoughts, all of me, all of everybody and everything in its flow. It is an intelligent, kind, loving river that knows exactly where it is going. I may want to resist, go my way, get caught in an eddy of addiction here, a backwater of sin there, but You have taken that into account. You move me on in spite of myself. Chaucer said “Time and tide wait for no man.” Time ticks down to the moment of my death and the tide of events, individual and international, moves on, foreseen and guided by Your unfathomably loving hand. Providence moves inexorably on toward the Parousia, carrying all along in its wake.

I cannot see how disasters, death and destruction fit into Your Love, but I believe and trust that they do, because I believe and trust in You. I am told[2] that if I am able to hold a certain degree of uncertainty, ambiguity, and tension, like not knowing where bad things fit into love, paradoxically, this will lead to a much more calm and content way of “being in control”! That control is resting in trust and faith.

Help me today to rest in that trust and faith. Amen. Alleluia!!!

[1] Scripture texts in this work are taken from the New American Bible, revised edition © 2010, 1991, 1986, 1970 Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, Washington, D.C. and are used by permission of the copyright owner. All Rights Reserved. No part of the New American Bible may be reproduced in any form without permission in writing from the copyright owner.

[2] by Richard Rohr, OFM, Daily Mediations, modified.

Leave a Reply

